Apple Pie

My mother or grandmother haven’t teached me baking but gradually as I grew older I got interested in their recipes. Obviously all our mothers and grandmothers are the best cooks and bakers, it’s what we’ve grown up with, we like. So their recipes are very dear to me and tasting this food helps me remember all those lovely Sunday’s in my Grandma’s kitchen. Chatting away.. Bless.

Baken1

When my grandmother died a decade ago, I inherited her recipe book in which – over time – I added my own and some of my mothers treats. It’s not vast, but it is a wonderful memorabilia and I enjoy to just skim through it to find inspiration. So today’s recipe is from that book and I am honestly not sure if it is one of my mum’s or grandmothers recipe. But here we go.

Baken

Apple Pie

  • Servings: 8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

General ingredients:
About 5 apples (depending on their sizes. I would recommend sweet ones, but both work, just alter the taste)
50g grounded hazelnuts

Dough:
150g all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
50g cold butter
4-5 tablespoons cold water

Filling:
2 eggs
some milk
2 tablespoons vanilla sugar
a pinch of white sugar

1. For the dough mix the flour with the salt.
2. Add flakes of the cold butter and lightly rub the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles fine crumbs.
3. Add the water and bring the dough quickly together.
4. Leave it to rest for 30 minutes in a cold room.
5. Once rested roll out the pastry into a thin circle. If necessary cut the edges off and place it onto your tray. I have a circular pie tray but you can use any tray you have. Just make sure it’s no bigger than 26cm in diameter, otherwise you’ll have to adjust the measurements.
6. Skewer the prepared pastry with a fork, this way no bubbles will form and deform your pie.
7. Layer the pastry with the grounded hazelnuts. You could also use grounded almonds, whatever you prefer or have ready in your larder. This will prevent the pastry to get soggy as it will soak up any juices from the apples.
8. Peel, seed and cut the apples into thing slices, before placing them in a fan onto the pastry.

Bake for 15 minutes in the 180° preheated oven. Then pour the mixed filling of eggs, vanilla sugar, milk and sugar over the pie. It’s important to mix it well, otherwise you will have streaks of egg white or yolk showing on your pie (see picture below). Return to the oven for another 15 minutes. If you think the pie doesn’t brown enough, increase the temperature in the last 5 minutes to 220°.

IMG_5813

IMG_5808

IMG_5814

IMG_5822

IMG_5820

Leave a Reply

