Strawberry Mint Bundt Cakes

Finally, Summer is here! The weather is turning warm (apparently up to 27° this Wednesday), the people are more relaxed, social gatherings move to the outside and most important of all… It’s time for berries!!!

But most important of all, it’s also time for Fiesta Friday #17. And I am taking part on this virtual party for the first time. Let’s bake all night and taste deep into the mornings… I am very excited!

IMG_5909

Just a few days ago the first local strawberries were in the shops and on the farmers market. I know, I know… in these times we can buy anything at anytime, but I am old fashioned and I like to stick to seasonal ingredients and local produce. If I buy it out of season I am either oblivious to it or just really, really craving it. So strawberries. We had some lovely whipped cream and we tend to always leave a few aside for the next day. But in fact they are often forgotten in the fridge. Perfect to dust my wee bundt cake forms and whip up tiny cakes for tonight’s longing.

IMG_5914 IMG_5911

Strawberry Mint Bundt Cakes

  • Servings: 8 small cakes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients for 8 small cakes:

25g butter
1 egg
25g sugar
50 strawberries
about 5 tiny leaves of mint (see pictures)
1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
50g grounded almonds (or any nuts, but don’t use too much hazelnuts as they overpower the strawberry and mint)
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
a small bit of baking powder
a small bit of salt
a small bit of caster sugar

1. Whip the butter until soft, then add the egg and the sugar.
2. Mix until the mixture has a golden colour.
3. Add the finely chopped strawberry and mint leaves as well as the lemon juice.
4. Mix the batter, then add almonds, salt, flower and baking powder.
5. Mix the batter again and fill your little forms.

Bake the cakes in the middle of the 200° preheated oven for just over 20 minutes. Let them cool down before removing the form and sprinkle caster sugar on top.

IMG_5927 IMG_5929 IMG_5932 IMG_5922

I love these little cakes, but they are quite unusual in taste, as you get the earthy nut, the sweet strawberry and the refreshing mint in one go.

IMG_5931

18 thoughts on “Strawberry Mint Bundt Cakes

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #17 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Ohh my first comments. Thank you so much. 🙂 They were actually delicious, I will definitely make another batch very soon.

    Like

  3. Hi Martina – I am one of the three co-hosts for Angie’s party – a big welcome to Fiesta Friday! Your gorgeous little cakes look just divine and I think that the flavours complement each other very well! Your photos are just lovely too! I hope you get a chance to visit the other blogs, leave a comment and follow those you find interesting. The Friday Fiesta crew are a very welcoming and supportive bunch and you will be sure to make lots of new friends! I hope you don’t mind me saying this but in order to be considered for a “feature” in Angie’s round-up post next week, you should update your post to add a link to the party and mention that you are taking part – I hope you do as I would love to add you to my shortlist! Happy Fiesta Friday!

    Like

    • Hi Selma! Thanks so much for your kind words and the tips for Fiesta Friday. Still very much a novice at this, therefore appreciate all the help I can get. And most important of all – Happy Fiesta Friday to you too!

      Like

  4. Your bundt cakes are so cute Martina! And they sound delicious! I am so glad you are joining us for Fiesta Friday! I hope this fun weekly party becomes a regular for you!

    Like

  5. Nice to meet you, Martina! 🙂
    These mini bundt cake look gorgeous! Mini versions are best for parties, because you wouldn’t notice that you have eaten a lot. 😛 I don’t mind eating a lot of these as they look so delicious!

    Thank you for coming to FF and I hope to see you on the next FFs. 🙂

    PS: Awesome photos, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

