Almond Cantucci

DSCF3351

I have been very slow and lazy recently. My partner has packed his bags and left for his homeland for a year. Some more education is calling. So I’ve been feeling a bit lonely and down but even more I lost my appetite in the kitchen. Whenever I want to start baking or cooking I just go ‘why bother, cooking for one is lame’. Yup, so I’ve been kicking and turning in my little cave but slowly, ever so slowly I am crawling back out.

So here I am presenting you some Cantucci I made a few weeks back. They are one of my favourite cookies ever. Slightly behind my all time favourites, the Florentines. But ever so slightly.

DSCF3342

Almond Cantucci

  • Servings: 25 cookies
  • Time: 1h 15mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:
50g almonds
2 eggs
100g sugar
1/2 orange (only the peeled skin)
1 pinch of salt
150g flour
25g grounded almonds
1/8 tsp baking powder

1. Distribute the almonds on a baking tray and bake for 10 minutes at 200° until golden brown.
2. Let the almonds cool and cut into pieces.
3. Mix the eggs, sugar, the orange peel and the salt and whisk for about 3 minutes until the mixture is brighter.
4. Mix the flour and grounded almonds and combine with the other ingredients including the baked almonds.
5. Divide the dough into 2 pieces and roll on plenty of flour to two 3cm thick rolls.
6. Bake for about 20 minutes at 200°.
7. Remove from the oven and reduce the oven heat to 180°.
8. Cut into pieces of about 1cm and place in the oven again for about 8 minutes.
9. Turn off the oven and leave the door slightly ajar.
10. Dry for another 15 minutes.

DSCF3337

This was my first attempt in making them. And I was so surprised how well they turned out. Cantucci have a way of being quite hard to bite, and these certainly were as well. But then not quite as hard as I am used to, and I really enjoyed that. I mean who wants to lose some teeth over cookies? Although these might just be worth it.

DSCF3343

So I hope you enjoy them and I do promise to be back more often now. Promise! 🙂

12 thoughts on “Almond Cantucci

  1. I love a good cantucci (biscotti). I’ve made them a couple of times, with a bit of spice, and enjoy them with a cup of tea or coffee. Oh dear, I’m sorry to hear you’ve been feeling down. I lived apart from my husband for a year in a different city and remember feeling that cooking for one was disappointing. It was hard for me the first couple of months, but inviting new friends over once in a while and cooking for them was incredibly helpful. xx

    Like

  2. I love biscotti! I’ve never tried to make it but this looks pretty doable. I know what you mean about cookig for one… It totally sucks and I usually just make toast lol. I think it’s the joy of cooking for someone that makes me so into food. Glad to see you coming out of that shell though. Just know that you have other people in the blogosphere that look forward to seeing what you create this week 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

