European Bake – A Student Cake!

It’s European Week at the Great British Bake Off and what did I bake 2 hours before I even knew about that? A Student Cake? Do you even know what that is? Well it’s a Swiss bake as far as I know (or could be German), usually made with leftovers (hence the name student) and cut into thick slices. It is one of my favourite cakes and I always buy it as an after-dinner snack. So I just had to try and make it myself for a change.

It’s actually not the easiest cake to make and I just realise how simple my cakes usually are. The Great British Bake Off really is an inspiration to me to go beyond my comfort zone and try something new. But Mary and Paul would probably tell me that it looks a mess. Which to be fair, is true. But it’s a first time bake so I let it slide (I am usually quite forgiving to myself).

DSCF3386

But let’s talk about the Bake Off. I have never been that excited and worried at the same time. Two of my favourites up for elimination and phew, none of them had to go. Although at this stage and in this series I just like everybody. They all bring such character to the show. I just love it. Oo and the Swedish Princess Torte. Here in continental Europe this is a very popular dessert. I couldn’t believe the British bakers didn’t know it. What a delicious dessert. Do try it if you get a chance.

Student Cake

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients short crust:
100g flour
40g sugar
1 pinch of salt
60g butter, cold and in cubes
1 tbsp. water

Ingredients for the sponge mixture:
4 egg yolks
50g sugar
1 tbsp. hot water

4 egg whites
1 pinch of salt
250g shortbread or butter biscuit, finely grounded
100g grounded hazelnut
4 tbsp. chocolate powder
2 tbsp. cocoa powder
1 tsp. cinnamon

2 tbsp. apricot jam

125g melted chocolate frosting

Short crust pastry:
1. Combine flour, sugar and salt for the short crust pastry in a bowl.
2. Add the butter and crumble the mixture into an even mixture.
3. Add the water and combine into a soft dough without kneading.
4. Place the dough into the with baking paper lined baking tin and push it down onto the bottom.
5. Place in a cool area for 30 minutes.
6. Stab the dough densely with a fork.

Bake for 15 minutes in the lower part of the oven at 200°. Cool a bit and brush with the apricot jam.

Sponge mixture:
1. Whisk the egg yolks, sugar and water in a bowl with an electric mixture for about 5 minutes until the mixture is frothy.
2. Whisk the egg whites with the salt until stiff.
3. Mix the biscuits, hazelnuts, chocolate and cocoa powder and the cinnamon in another bowl.
4. Alternate mixing the egg whites and the biscuit mixture with the egg yolks and carefully mix together.
5. Distribute onto the baked short crusty pastry.

Bake for about 35 minutes and let it cool a little bit. Then pour the melted chocolate frosting on top and let it cool. Then remove from the tin.

DSCF3381

I was a bit horrified when I saw my pictures. It was quite late at night, as I needed to let the chocolate set and then the next day, the cake was gone. I should take the quick dissappearance as a compliment really, but I am a bit dissapointet when I look at the visual result (in the cake and the pictures). But it tasted nice. I think I would even suggest to put another layer of jam on top of the cake, underneath the chocolate glazing as the middle bit is a little bit dry.

So I am bringing this tasty but messy cake to Angies Fiesta Friday. As usual I am a day late (apologies) but nevertheless that means you’ll have digested yesterdays food and some room for my little leftover cake! 🙂 I hope you like it.

17 thoughts on “European Bake – A Student Cake!

  1. Pingback: Rainbow Pizza with Kale Parmesan Crust | Fiesta Friday #33 | The Novice Gardener

  2. What are you talking about?! That cake looks delicious! I’ve never heard of student cake before but it has everything I love in it…plus I’m a student, haha. Mary and Paul are the most delightful reality show judges on any TV show.

    Like

  3. Yum, Martina, this cake looks so amazing! Funnily I have never seen it before, although I am Swiss 😉 Oh no, something I have been missing out for the longest time! Anyways, I’d love to try a piece now! Thanks so much for bringing along to the Fiesta! hugs, Sylvia

    Like

    • Thank you so much Sylvia! Well I think it’s calle Studentenschnitte around here. This is the precut form. But how funny, I thought this was sooo known. Maybe just in my neck of the woods.

      Like

Leave a Reply

