Florentines

What’s the best cookie in the world? Hell ye, florentines! I like every possible version of it. Mine are similar to what my mum used to make for Christmas, gooey, sweet and a little crunchy. But then you get the store bought versions with are cruuunchy! So crunchy. I like them too. I don’t actually know which way they are supposed to be like, but it doesn’t matter, there are chocolate and nuts in all of them.

DSCF3415

So it’s been about time that I tried to make them myself (yup I usually only eat them, never make them). I guess if there is something you like above everything else it’s hard to match those memories by attempting your own version. But I just had to go for it. I have recently seen quite a few versions of my fellow bloggers and it inspired me to try my own. And yes, it’s safe to say it was a success. So happy to share this recipe with you.

Florentines

  • Servings: 30 cookies
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients
1 tbsp butter
1,5 dl cream
1 tsp honey
100g sugar
100g candied fruit, minced
50g almond slivers
50g flaked almonds

2-3 tbsp flour

125g milk chocolate

1. First bring the butter, cream, honey and sugar slowly to the boil.
2. Reduce the heat and simmer gently while adding the candied fruit, and the two types of almonds.
3. Mix well and simmer for about 3 minutes.
4. Add the flour and keep stirring until the paste thickens.
5. Take off the heat and use two teaspoons to spoon the mixture onto the baking tray.
6. Leave plenty of room between cookies as the mixture will spread.
7. Try and press the spooned mixture down a little bit.

Bake in the preheated oven at 220°  for about 5 minutes. Keep a constant eye on them, 1 minute more and they might already be burned.

When cooled down a bit, melt the chocolate and dip one side of the florentines into it. Leave to cool completely.

DSCF3414

You have probably noticed, that it’s been a bit quiet on my blog recently. It’s because I am back at Uni (a mature student as they say, or just a plain old spinster as I say 😉 ). Well sort of, I’ve been doing Open University courses for a few years now. Slowly scuffle towards my BA in English and Literature. I try, but then what do they say? The journey is the reward. I do enjoy learning, but then on other days I have a big questionmark hanging over my head. “Hark! What dost Shakespeare mean?” So these cookies are the best way to calm down again. Bring my sugarlevels up and after florentines and a cup of tea knuckle back down and get it over with. 😉

So to all my fellow students, bake these and you will feel better. Promise!

DSCF3413

I will be bringing these treasures to Angies Fiesta Friday tomorrow. It’s no problem, you can keep these yummies in a tin for a few weeks. But really, they never last that long. So here is a thank you to you Angie, for organising this wonderful party every week. Here’s a very gratefully little blogger.

 

19 thoughts on “Florentines

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday Birthday Edition (FF39) | The Novice Gardener

  2. I’ve never heard of, therefore never tasted Florentines before, Martina! I have to say that I feel very slighted. It’s not fair that I’ve lived all of these years and have never had the pleasure of them. Thank goodness you’ve shared them, because I’m going to make them this coming weekend.. and see what they’re all about! They look so delicious!! Better late in life, than never…right? Awesome post!! Good luck in your studies.. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

